The newest professional women’s soccer franchise in the United States is ready to power up with their new name and crest.

Washington, D.C.’s entry in the USL Super League unveiled its identity on Monday, May 20. They’ll be known as DC Power Football Club, or Power FC for short, and unveiled a striking black-and-red crest.

The crest consists of a black and red shield with an eagle wing cutting through the middle “reflecting our attacking style of play.” The negative space in the wing has three lightning bolt shapes to represent the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia. At the top of the shield, “POWER FC” is written out in white, with three red stars underneath to “evoke the iconic DC city flag.” And in the red bottom half of the shield, there’s an interlocking “DC” monogram.

“This is a monumental day for our club and the integration into the community as we officially launch our team’s name and crest,” said club president Jordan Stuart on their website. “Power FC’s identity is deeply rooted in the dynamic spirit and resilience of its hometown, Washington, DC. As our nation’s center of power, Washington, DC bears a unique responsibility. The responsibility to lead. To effect change. To inspire. This energy drives Power Football Club.”

The black, red and white color scheme may be intentionally evocative of Major League Soccer side D.C. United as a partnership has been established between the two clubs. Devin Talbott, a part-owner of D.C. United, is also part of Power FC’s ownership group, along with Angel Reese of the WNBA’s Chicago Sky.

Power FC will play their home games at Audi Field, which they’ll share with D.C. United. The USL Super League will kick off in August 2024 and continue until spring 2025 with a winter break, but a detailed schedule has not yet been released.

The initial eight teams for the 2024-25 USL Super League season include:

Other markets identified for future expansion include: Chattanooga, Tennessee; Indianapolis, Indiana; Jacksonville, Florida; Madison, Wisconsin; Oakland, California; Palm Beach, Florida; Phoenix, Arizona; and Tucson, Arizona.

Source link



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *